Bibliography: Ruth Suckow's Work

Here is a list of Ruth Suckow's books, in chronological order.

The RSMA began discussing one book each year at our annual meeting several years ago, as well her short stories.


Country People. New York: Knopf, 1924.

The Odyssey of a Nice Girl. New York: Knopf, 1925.

Iowa Interiors. New York: Knopf, 1926.

The Bonney Family. New York: Knopf, 1928.

Cora. New York: Knopf, 1929.

The Kramer Girls. New York: Knopf, 1930.

Children and Older People. New York: Knopf, 1931.

The Folks. New York: Farrar & Rinehart, 1934.

Carry-Over. New York: Farrar & Rinehart, 1936.

New Hope. New York: Farrar & Rinehart, 1936.

Some Others and Myself. New York: Rinehart, 1952. [short stories and "A


The John Wood Case. New York: Viking, 1959.

University of Iowa Press -- Iowa City, IA

Two of Ruth Suckow's earlier books were reprinted, largely due to the efforts of the RSMA.

The Folks (reissued in 1992)

New Hope (reissued in 1998)

In addition, A Ruth Suckow Omnibus came out in 1988: this contains eleven of her short stories. It also includes an introductory essay by Suckow Scholar Clarence A. Andrews, a long time member of the RSMA.

Selected Nonfiction

"Iowa," American Mercury, 9 (Sept. 1926): 39-45.

"The Folk Idea in American Life," Scribner's Magazine, 88 (Sept. 1930): 245-55.

"Middle Western Literature," English Journal (College Edition), 21 (Mar. 1932): 175-82.

A Memoir. New York: Rinehart, 1952.

"An Almost Lost American Classic," College English, 14 (Mar. 1953): 315-25.

"The Surprising Anthony Trollope," 7he Georgia Review, 12 (Winter 1958): 388-95.

"Modem Figures of Destiny: D. H. Lawrence and Frieda Lawrence," D. H. Lawrence Review, 3 (Spring 1970): 1-30.

Selected Magazine Fiction

"The Best of the Lot," Smart Set, 69 (Nov. 1922): 5-36.

"Other People's Ambitions," Smart Set, 70 (Mar. 1923): 5-38.

"A Part of the Institution," Smart Set, 72 (Oct. 1923): 11-53.

"What Have I," Harper's, 178 (Jan. 1939): 126-37.

"A Little Girl's World," Midwest: A Literary Review, 3 (Spring 1960): 1-12.

Last updated March 5, 2021

Cherie Dargan, Webmaster